THE PROLOGUE SOCIETY, founded in 1992, is a not-for-profit organization whose purpose is to encourage and foster interest in and understanding of the history and culture of all peoples and nations.

The Society hosts approximately seven luncheon events each year, from September to May in South Florida.

Members meet to listen to writers and historians of local, national, and international stature discuss their recent books. Each season brings a wide variety of topics that span time, geography, cultures and disciplines.

The inspiration for The Prologue Society’s name comes from the statue Future by Robert Aitken that sits at the Pennsylvania Avenue entrance to the National Archives in Washington D.C. The quote on the statue in turn refers to Shakespeare’s famous quote, “What’s past is prologue.”


Executive Committee

James Herron


Nancy Frehling

Vice Chair

Robert Ruwitch


Debbie Hirshson

Secretary & Program Manager


Larry Apple

JoAnne Bander

Rachel Blechman

Joseph Fleming, Esq.

Maureen Gragg

Teresa Gutierrez

David Lawrence, Jr.

Edward Loeb

Cristina Nosti

Dr. Edmund Parnes

Judith Ratzan

Mark Trowbridge


Carmen Betancourt Lewis

Howard Kleinberg

Dabney Park

In Memoriam

Ray Marchman, Jr.

Arva Moore Parks McCabe


Copyright 1992-2023 The Prologue Society, Inc.
Miami, Florida USA

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software